top of page

NUTRITION | Iron: Where To Get It

Red kidney beans. Let's talk about this for a sec.

Why the beans, you say? Well, I have always been susceptible to anaemia, which means my red blood cell count is often quite low. Bruises take longer to disappear, and my under-eyes have a tendency to appear dark, which encourages people to ask questions like "When was the last time you slept? Are you dehydrated?"

While I eat some meat, my diet consists mainly of vegetables - which I adore; however, when I noticed the dark circles under my eyes had returned in full force, and concealer was no longer working as a cover-up, I knew I needed to up my IRON.


Iron is important because it helps to produce hemoglobin - the substance found in red blood cells that helps them carry oxygen to the body's tissues. Without sufficient iron, a person may even feel irritable, tired and weak.

As I was unable to commit to large portions of red meat, I discovered the many benefits of red kidney beans, including their being an incredible source of iron.

So why are they so good? 🤔

1️⃣ They replenish iron stores (especially good for anemics and women on their period!) 2️⃣ Are low in calories 3️⃣ Low GI means slow burning of carbs, so your energy lasts longer 4️⃣ Maintains memory function with thiamin 5️⃣ Antioxidant defense 6️⃣ Source of protein 7️⃣ Blood sugar stabiliser 8️⃣ Lowers risk of heart attack

So I'm super happy to be changing our dinner meal plans to include red kidney beans in the coming weeks. So far my fiance and I have enjoyed a spontaneous pork, fresh stir fry veggies + beans dish (below), and red kidney beans, avocado, spinach leaves, cherry tomatoes, grated carrot, tiny squares of cheese, red wine vinegar and a pinch of salt (2nd photo). Divine.


But what other foods are high in iron? Firstly, iron comes in two forms: nonheme (plants) and heme (meats). So let's take a look at how to increase your iron intake:​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​

1️⃣ Liver (beef or chicken)

2️⃣ Mussels, oysters, sardines

3️⃣ Cooked beef, cooked turkey, chicken, ham, veal

4️⃣ Tuna, salmon, haddock, perch, halubit

5️⃣ Breakfast cereals enriched with iron, peanuts, sunflower seeds, walnuts, roasted almonds, pistachios, pecans, roasted cashews

6️⃣ Tofu

7️⃣ Cooked beans, lima beans, red kidney beans, chickpeas, split peas

8️⃣ Raw spinach, baked potato, brocolli, dried seedless raisins, peaches and prunes

Suffice to say, iron can be found in other foods not listed here, but the amounts will be relatively smaller in comparison. The above are the most iron-rich foods made available to you, easily found in supermarkets, butchers and fruit & veg stores.

Belinda Marie

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page