top of page

LIFESTYLE | Reading Challenge


Last night, I took a metaphorical step back and assessed my surrounds. "Something is off..." I thought. "Something feels... strained..."


I looked at the many fantastic books on our shared bookshelf, and averted my eyes back to the TV. I wasn't even interested in what was playing at the time, but my eyes remained glued on the screen, as if defying the temptation just about anything else.


Then, a lightbulb moment.


As a former English Teacher, I'll be the first to admit that reading and learning is a hobby. But as an adult (and especially as a teacher), I found myself with little to no time to read for leisure. In fact, by 9pm, my tired brain would rather automatically revert to surfing Facebook or watching Netflix than immerse itself in a juicy book.


Do I enjoy the 'zombie', 'drone' feeling? Not in the slightest. So I thought about an achievable entertainment alternative.


Like when you go to the gym or for a 5km jog, having someone else to join in the challenge rocks. So, with this metaphorical lightbulb, I turned to my fiancé and suggested a Reading Challenge.


"Reading Challenge?" you say. "How many books will you aim to read? 10? 20?"


I ain't got time for' dat. But hear me out.


I proposed that our Reading Challenge must be simple and sustainable: we dedicate one whole hour to reading a book, Kindle, magazine or newspaper of our choice. NO visual digital distractions are allowed. Gentle background music is acceptable, but must be kept to a minimum. Televisions and phones are a definite NO.


He agreed, and was actually excited about the prospect! So this Sunday we will both embark on a new, fun, rewarding and relaxing challenge, and I encourage you to do the same.


If you live with someone who could benefit from an hour or two of quiet reading without the invasion of technology, this is a great activity to do together.


To make it a sociable affair, prepare a pot of tea following your session and spend 20 minutes sharing what you read or learned! Keep those one-to-one lines of communication open!


Will you be taking on this challenge? I'd love to hear from you! Tell me what you read - who you completed the challenge with - how you felt without the distraction of technology. Twitter


Belinda Marie

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page