top of page

YOGA | The Air We Breathe


At present, I'm living in the UK and we have just entered into summer. This is the best time of year for the English: people finally get to wear bright colours with out judgment; shorts and singlets are publicly acceptable; our eyes are no longer squinted, blocking out the wind chill; and our furrowed brows are replaced with beaming smiles.


The gift of the (mostly) blue sky, warm rays and gentle breeze is upon us again... but for some of us, the start of summer also means allergies and sinus pain.


During the past fortnight, I've been woken up with what felt to be tension headaches, coupled with a blocked sinus. I don't like to rely on painkillers, and often find that paracetamol and ibuprofen tablets have little to no effect on me whatsoever when I suffer from headache symptoms.


This morning, I completed the usual errands, followed by a meeting in London, before making my way home at lunch to crack on with the growing amount of work sitting next to my computer. For most people, headaches or migraines mean the end of productivity as they know it. And I'm no exception.


I tried sleeping it off, but I couldn't get to sleep with that beautiful sunshine beaming into the living room.


I tried massaging my sinuses and neck, with no luck.


I put on my sneakers and walked around the block for fresh air. Somehow, it made it worse.


I took some painkillers as a last resort, knowing it wouldn't make a difference. And I was right.


20 minutes later and frustrated, I persisted with my Thursday yoga. And what do you know...


Within 10 minutes, my headache was beginning to lift. The breathing exercises required in a yoga workout were alleviating the tension behind my sinuses and ears, and air was flowing through my lungs.


After 30 minutes (and as I write this), my headache has left me completely. It just goes to show the power of gentle exercise and the effect oxygen has on our bodies!


I personally cannot wait for the day when I live away from the smog of the big cities and busy towns. I'm craving that pure, unadulterated air that does our bodies so much good. ​


Belinda Marie​​​​​​​​​​​​​

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page