top of page

INTERVIEW | Direct from the USA - Alec Benjamin talks all things music with Gigamov


Gigamov recently caught up with American singer-songwriter Alec Benjamin for a quick chat about an Aussie tour, how collaboration is like dating, and why Eminem and Paul Simon are actually quite alike...



You’ve been described as being heavily influenced by artists such as Eminem and Paul Simon. Do you think this is a fair assessment of your style, and if so, how does one artist straddle such a broad gulf musically?


It’s hard for me to say whether or not it’s an accurate assessment of my style because I can’t really be objective about my own music. Eminem and Paul Simon are some of my favourite artists though, so I do think those influences come out naturally when I am writing songs.


Also, I don’t think that there is such a big difference between Eminem and Paul Simon. Interestingly enough, I think that Eminem has far more in common with Paul Simon than he does with most emerging hip hop artists in 2018. There are countless parallels between their storytelling, instrumentation, and lyrical phrasing.


Which work, album or song would you describe as being your most personal and why?


I think my song 'Death of a Hero' is one of the most personal songs I have ever written...


You are a very prolific writer and performer with a large amount of output. Where do you feel your song writing motivations come from?


Everyday life! There are so many things to talk about…


You’ve achieved a lot with your music over the last few years. It’s been great to follow! Where do you hope your musical direction goes from here? What are your future ambitions?


I think my music has evolved naturally as I grow, and I continue to write more songs. I am just going to do my best to continue writing songs and putting them out.


Watch the brand spankin' new official video for 'Let Me Down Slowly' HERE!


You’ve worked with a lot of people in the music industry over the years, from Sacha Skarbek to Jon Bellion. How easy do you find it to collaborate with others?


If it is the right creative match then it can be really effortless! The hardest part is finding the right people to work with. It’s like going on dates! *laughs*


Is there anybody else you would like to collaborate with in the future that you haven’t already?


I’d love to write a song with Paul Simon. I know it’s a long shot… but it’s a dream of mine.


Do you have any preference for venue size when performing? Smaller, more intimate venues, or larger scale performance spaces?


I’ll play anywhere, any time!


Describe how critical it is for young performers (or any performer) these days to be using sites such as YouTube to promote their music to a larger audience. How did you get started in this field?


It’s so important. It is essential if you want to connect with the people who listen to your music! I got started by just uploading random songs and demos to YouTube.


I noticed that you direct your own music videos! Which one was the most difficult to create, and why? Which one was the most fun?


'I Built A Friend' for sure! That was tough because my friends Max Movish, Hunter Lyon, and I had to direct little kids! *laughs*


Have you visited or toured Australia before? Do you have plans to do so in the future?

No, but I would love to! I think I may be coming over in a few months!


Thank you for your time, Alec. We really love your work!


Thank you for the interview!



Follow Us
  • Facebook - Black Circle
  • Twitter - Black Circle
bottom of page